Thepopeofastoria’s Weblog


Navigating Guys and the Workplace
March 16, 2012, 4:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Pope,

I have been working at a new job for three months. I am lucky because I work in an environment that is overrun by guys. However, this has brought up tons of  issues in regards to dating/flirting. I need your advice on how to navigate this new world. Any advice would be appreciative!

1. Is it OK to have an office relationship?

2. Are guys on the lookout to date co-workers?

3. Since there is a very delicate line in the working world, how would you know if a guy was interested in you?

4. How do I approach a guy at work that I’m interested in?

5. Are there any do’s and dont’s in office romances?

6. There is a co-worker that likes me, and I am not interested. How can get my point across that I’m not interested but not hurt his feelings?

7. There is a new hire who just arrived yesterday. He is really nice and quite attractive. How do I approach him? Also, by employment standards, I am the low man on the totem pole (part-time intern) and I look incredibly young. He is a full-time employee and is around my age. I don’t want him to think I am a 22 year old kid! But how would I drop a hint that I am older and wiser?

8. Speaking of, since I look young, do you think that prevents guys from coming up to talk to me?

9. Is flirting with co-workers OK? When does it cross the line?

Thank you,

New World Nancy


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment